July 2018 Archives

South Carolina's speeding laws

To many people in South Carolina, getting a speeding ticket is something that is almost bound to happen at some point. While it may feel like a small incident and easy to shrug off, that is not always the case, especially when it feels unclear to the driver as to why exactly a ticket was issued in the first place.

Potentially drugged driver kills 11-year-old

When most people in South Carolina think about driving under the influence they think about drunk driving. Certainly, this is a huge danger to people every day yet it is not the only one they face. Drugged drivers also put innocent people at risk and may be charged with a DUI even if they have not consumed alcohol because drugs can impair a person to a point of rendering them unable to safely operate a vehicle. 

How does asset forfeiture work?

It is frustrating for residents of South Carolina to read of others who seemingly have made crime pay. Wall Street brokers who may benefit from insider trading. Business owners who launder drug money, drug traffickers, and any number of additional crimes that occur on a daily basis. One tool law enforcement agencies use to combat the appearance that crime does indeed pay—and pay well in some cases—is asset forfeiture statutes.

Reviewing some consequences of underage DUI charges

When someone finds themselves in court over drunk driving, they may be unsure of how the charges will affect their future. There are many consequences associated with DUI charges and each person's situation is unique. For some people, such as those who have been charged with driving under the influence previously and teenagers who have not reached the legal drinking age, there are additional considerations. Underage drunk driving charges can be disastrous with regard to a young person's future and they can also bring a great deal of stress into a family.

Breath test responsibilities on law enforcement

If you are one of the many responsible citizens of South Carolina who has ever been questioned by law enforcement about potential drunk driving, you may well have been asked to submit to a breath test. The state does have what is called an implied consent law which means that anyone who accepts a driver's license in essence agrees to provide a breath sample when requested. However, this does not mean that every breath test is completely accurate or that a result over the 0.08 percent legal limit guarantees you will be convicted of driving under the influence.