March 2019 Archives

What is a "diversion program?"

If you or a loved one was arrested for a drug crime, driving under the influence or a similar offense, the court may decide that a diversion program is the best punishment. Districts throughout South Carolina offer diversion programs for both the state's and defendants' benefit. If the courts recently offered you the opportunity to participate in a diversion program, you may wonder what that means and if it is a good idea to accept.

What can be used against me in court for a DUI?

South Carolina cracks down hard on people who are accused of driving while under the influence. Because of that, the penalties can add up fast and cause you a lot of damage. Parham Law Firm, LLC, is here to help if you have been accused of a DUI related crime. Today, we'll take a look at three things to double-check from your traffic stop.

Multi-agency investigation leads to federal indictments

People who live in South Carolina and hear about criminal drug charges should know that there are a wide variety of these types of charges and offenses. It should never be thought that all cases are the same. Some people might be arrested and later charged with a misdemeanor while others can find themselves facing felony charges and even federal offenses. The penalties associated with these various crimes can be wildly different as well.

How could so many charges result from one arrest?

Have you ever been detained for a traffic offense, charged with a DUI or arrested for possession while in your vehicle? If not, you may be shocked at the number of charges the state of South Carolina might attempt to levy against you for what seems like a straightforward event. 

Defending yourself from an underage DUI in South Carolina

If you are a driver under the age of 21, it is important that you know how the law holds you to a higher standard regarding driving under the influence of alcohol. If you are 21 years old or older, you can consume alcohol and then drive as long as your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is lower than 0.08 percent. However, if you are under the age of 21, you will be breaking the law if you drive with a BAC over 0.02 percent.