Defending yourself from an underage DUI in South Carolina

If you are a driver under the age of 21, it is important that you know how the law holds you to a higher standard regarding driving under the influence of alcohol. If you are 21 years old or older, you can consume alcohol and then drive as long as your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is lower than 0.08 percent. However, if you are under the age of 21, you will be breaking the law if you drive with a BAC over 0.02 percent.

Being charged with a DUI as a minor in South Carolina can have a far-reaching effect on your future. This is why it is very important that you take swift action to adequately defend yourself. There can be many reasons why you should not be charged with a DUI after having a BAC reading.

What penalties will I face as a result of a DUI conviction as a minor?

It is likely that you will be subjected to a three month driving ban as a result of driving under the influence of alcohol as a minor. You will also be required to enroll in an Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program. If you refuse to take a chemical test, you will likely face a driving ban of six months.

How can I defend myself against a DUI as a minor?

If you are found to have a BAC of over 0.02 percent as a minor, you may want to question the validity and the accuracy of the test results. You may also want to argue that the timing of the testing was significantly delayed, which meant that your BAC was recorded at a higher amount. If you have a medical condition such as diabetes or acid reflux, this condition may have affected the test results.

Facing a DUI as a minor in South Carolina can have an effect on your ability to get to work or pursue your education. It can also lead to difficulties regarding your finances, since the entire process can be expensive. Make sure you understand how the law works so that you can defend yourself against a DUI when you think it is necessary.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information